My favorite place on earth

image

This is my favorite place on Earth. On this terrasse, in front of our family house. Looking towards a small village, nestled in the southeastern foothills of the Vercors mountain range.
This is where my husband asked me to marry him,

on a gorgeous summer morning.
This is where we celebrated my and all of my siblings’ civilian wedding.
This is where we sort through the mushrooms we’ve just picked in the nearby forests.
This is where my father – knowing he had only a few months left to live, gathered friends and family for a last celebratory weekend of drinking grands crus, singing and hiking in the mountains.
It’s imprinted with the benevolent presence, the laughter, and stories of cousins, aunts and uncles, and many dear family friends.
This is my favorite place on earth.
Here is a selection of recent pictures taken there.
What is your favorite place on earth? The one you have to return to once in a while to recharge?
I’m not sure we can post pictures in comments but I’d love to see them!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

5 thoughts on “My favorite place on earth

  1. This must be the most special place in the world for you and it is gorgeous too.
    I have moved so often in my life that I do not have a special place that I can physically touch and see but my special place is in my heart and where ever I feel happy so it changes constantly.
    I love yours!

  2. Pingback: Two magical words | Eugénie Street

Leave a Reply

