For the Love of … Tupperware (Not!)

Rebloging this post from my Boston-Brit friend Sam, to offer advice…

Oh Sam, I have been there: the mess, the lids flying, the containers toppling… Until one day, the last time we moved (6 times in the last decade…), I just threw away all my mismatched plastic mess, and bought 2 sets of Ikea tupperware. And then I put these in a small kitchen bottom drawer – bottom because it can’t topple out, it’s easy to look into, and easy to reach- and now it takes me about 2 seconds to grab container and matching lid. My life has changed!

20130715-094620.jpg

Keeping the Glass Half Full

My mother always says ‘there’s a lid for every pot,’ meaning there’s a match out there for each and every one of us. While this may apply to our love lives, it does not translate to my tupperware cupboard. Lawd, how I dislike tupperware.

And this evening, I lost it. I was looking for a particular-sized tupperware container. Meaning, I had to reluctantly rummage among the mismatched, chaotically organized lids and containers. Could I find what I was looking for? Of course not. Not only could I not find what I needed but the rummaging caused lids to fly and containers to topple. Ever so quickly, I tried to slam shut the cupboard door so that the lava of plastic vomit would not cascade out onto the floor. I managed to somewhat stem the flow but the dratted door wouldn’t shut. I opened it another teeny inch, squeezed my arm in and…

View original post 98 more words

Leave a Reply

